your online guide to meeting today's young celebrities

On December 23, Twitter became a battle ground between Locatics and fans of the Disney Show Shake it up,

20111224-100236.jpg

20111224-100329.jpg

It all started with a few tweets from Demi Lovato

“I could just eat you up, well if I ate” – Disney Chanel’s Shake It Up….

What are we promoting here?
#notfunnyATALL. Demi

I find it really funny how a company can lose one of their actress’ from the pressures of an EATING DISORDER and yet still make joke about..
Twitter for iPhone • 12/23/11 5:05 PM
Demi

…that very disease….. #nice.
Twitter for iPhone • 12/23/11 5:06 PM
Demi

And is it just me or are the actress’ getting THINNER AND THINNER…. I miss the days of RAVEN, and LIZZIE MCGUIRE.
Twitter for iPhone • 12/23/11 5:11 PM
Demi

For those of you who don’t know the show, Shake it Up stars Bella Thorne and Zendaya. The line Demi is referring to came from an episode from season 1 called Party it Up which Aired Dec 12 2010. The girls, CeCe and Rocky were helping at a party at Gary Wilde’s house and a super model said the line “You are so cute, I could eat you up, if I ate.” it was a joke about the stereotype of an adult model trying to keep thin.

Demi who has struggled with eating disorders was offended by the joke, expressed her opinion and then twitter got crazy!!

Many people who are Demi fans, called Lovatics started bashing the show, the writers, the cast, and Disney Channel.

9 year old Davis Cleveland took to Twitter to defend the show, his cast and crew and made some pretty harsh claims about Demi’s behavior during the time she was leaving the Disney Channel. His point was Demi had more issues than just eating disorders. He simply didn’t like Demi attacking his show.

Lovatics went after 9 yr old Davis with lots of gay bashing and even death threats.

20111224-101943.jpg

Davis didn’t back down and suggested that those fans use that energy for something positive like finding a cure for Cystic Fibrosis. Davis is passionate about the people suffering from CF and helping to find a cure!

Some Lovatics started a Twition to get Shake it Up off of the air due to the offensive joke.

Demi made a point that actresses are getting thinner and thinner. This may be true but it isn’t Disney Channel’s fault and skinny actresses are not just on Disney Channel. This has been an issue for years before Bella and Zendaya were even in acting. The cast of Sex and the City and the female cast members of Friends were all super thin. Nickelodeon shows like Victorious and Zoey101 also have very thin actresses.

They say the camera adds 10 pounds. We’ve met many celebrities and yes many are super thin. Miranda Cosgrove, G Hannelius, China McClain and Ariel Winter are all tiny. Casting agents are always looking for smaller kids who are older to play roles. Skai Jackson is 9 and plays a 7 yr old. Jake Short is 14 and plays an 11-12 year old. So what I’m saying is most of the time it is people who have smaller builds who book jobs. Then if they are young teens like Bella and Zendaya they have a growth spurt and look very thin.

I feel that Demi had a right to express her opinion and so did Davis but when fans began to hate, gay bash and cyber bully it went too far. Demi was bullied on middle school so badly she dropped out and began home schooling. I think she would been disappointed in her Lovatics last night if she knew how far they went last night.

Davis Cleveland was defending his show, cast and crew against attacks and got bullied, threatened, and called gay and a bunch of other names.

I hope when these people cool off, they see that this is not ok. Most of Demi’s fans support anti-bullying and this was a sad night!

Disney Channel did respond through their Public Relations Twitter account and told Demi directly that they would pull the episode that had the offensive joke in it

@ddlovato – we hear you & are pulling both episodes as quickly as possible & reevaluating them (1 of 2 messages)
@ddlovato – It’s NEVER our intention to make light of eating disorders! (2 of 2 messages)
web • 12/23/11 7:32 PM

Then Demi thanked them

@DisneyChannelPR thank you.
Twitter for iPhone • 12/23/11 9:40 PM

Demi did clarify that she wasn’t targeting a specific show or actresses
I wish her fans got that message earlier.

Just clearing things up, I have nothing against any specific actress/actor or tv show.. Nor do I think there’s anything wrong with girls
who aren’t curvy, I just was stating a fact that there needs to be more variety on television so young girls growing up don’t feel pressured
to look one specific way. Tall, thin, curvy, short, whatever you are, you are beautiful. :). Demi

It was a tough night for people like me who support the show and Demi.

I wish people can feel free to express their opinion without starting a Twitter war!

Comments on: "Lovatics attacks Shake it up to defend Demi" (9)

  1. Christopher Cunningham said:

    Its sad Davis is a real nice kid and I am thankful for what he has done for CF it was not right to bully him and many of us came to his defense including me on twitter I hope peace can be estalbished between both sides. Thank you Alexi for writing this I hope it will ease the tension. 🙂

  2. I swear.. people are immature and self-centered these days. It sickens me that everyone in that community is trying so hard to pull strings to make something come off the air over a little joke. For god’s sake, people! There’s more than one type of joke out there. It’s better to let it alone! I’m sorry people have to take something so seriously and make it a bigger problem than a line on the script!

  3. I agree with you Alexi !! I am a Lovatic who loves Demi with all of my heart but I also love Shake it up and especially Davis. He does so much and he’s the least person who deserves any hate.
    Those Lovatics who did that to Davis are no real fans in my view. If they were they would listen to Demi and don’t bully in any way.Especially don’t bully a 9 year old.
    If Demi knew this she would be very sad and dissapointed.
    I hope Davis is okay. And I hope that Cyber bullying ends. It’s so horrible 😦

  4. Ok first off I just want to say nobody deserves to get death threats and get called gay or anything like that. Nobody deserves that kind of hate no matter what they do. The Demi Lovato fans that did that were wrong. I could not agree with you anymore. That was completely wrong of them to go after Davis Cleveland with gay bashing remarks and death threats. Shame on them for doing that.

    Having said that, I find it frankly SHOCKING on his end that he would go that route and bring up PERSONAL incidents on set that should have remained PERSONAL and not PUBLIC. I’m sorry But I don’t care how old you are. It is frankly appalling and deplorable to bring up someone’s personal issues and use that as an attack on someone who didn’t even MENTION you by name. And Davis Cleveland if you are reading this right now, I want you to keep in mind that I’m not calling you derogatory names and I’m not giving you death threats I would not do that to ANYONE let alone a 9 year old kid. But what I will do is be VERY frank you brother. You have got some nerve to sit there and to insult someone by bringing up their personal issues by bringing up personal incidences on a closed set that is NOT for public eyes. I’m sorry kid but that is just low. That is a low down rotten move to do to ANYONE especially to someone who didn’t even do ANYTHING to you. Demi Lovato NEVER mentioned YOU or the ACTORS or ACTRESSES that worked on that show. Not ONCE did she take a stab at your fellow cast members yet you have the audacity to sit there bring up her past incidences when she was at her weakest moment? For shame on you. For shame on your for doing something so deplorable and so disgusting for ANYONE at ANY age. Not only that you decided to SLANDER Demi Lovato by saying if she didn’t respond to you then she is advocating gay bashing and anti bullying? Low brother. That is WAY LOW.

    And on top of that you have the temerity to tell people to start a trending topic for you about #STOPBULLYING even though you spent the better part of that night bringing past incidences up that didn’t even INVOLVE YOU? For you to say to someone else that they need to “Take a long look in the mirror and take responsibility for what they did.” you have a LOT of growing up and maturity to do on YOUR end amigo. Because I will tell you this right now. Bringing up someones past issues and previous incidences that doesn’t even involve you is frankly wrong, immature, sophomoric and just heinously horrendous on your end little man. And how DARE you bring up people suffering with Cystic Fibrosis as some sort of ploy to get people to stop bullying you after YOU initiated the bullying of a 19 year old girl yourself. I don’t care HOW old you are or HOW many hours you spent working with kids with CF. Bullying is bullying and last night YOU were one of the bullies that insulted a 19 year old girl for NO reason at all. That was wrong on your end dude and shame on you for that. I think YOU need to look in the mirror and take a LONG LOOK and see that what you did is frankly disgusting and reprehensible.

    And the only reason I am not tearing you a new one right now is because of your age. if you were a little older right now dude? I would have gone the extra mile and seriously ripped you a verbal new one. However I will say this. What you did last night was equivalent to that of a high school gossip girl who would spill the beans on someone’s personal life just to watch them suffer. That is equivalent to someone who would blackmail someone else if they didn’t get what they want. Now since you’re young, I’m gonna cut you a break and NOT verbally castigate you too much but I will end with this dude. Wrong is wrong dude. And what YOU DID is completely wrong. It is NOT cool to bring up personal incidences that did not involve you at all. It is not cool to insult someone and slander them if they didn’t give you what you wanted. And you gotta learn that this stuff doesn’t fly. Not at 9, not at 19 not at ANY age bro. So YOU take a long at YOURSELF and YOU need to grow up. Because you’re not gonna be 9 years old forever. When you get older and when you do stuff like this? You’re gonna get a LOT WORSE dude.

    It’s time to take off the dipers and grow up little man.

    • Who tries to argue with a 9 year old? Good God you’re pathetic as all can be. You are the one mistaken here. He was 9 & doesn’t have the ability to understand much of what was going on. You should know better but you have no life but to stalk 9 year olds. I hope the FEDs have your stuff tapped Cuz you, my non friend, are a Sicko!

  5. Christopher Cunningham said:

    Its really that this is still going on I went over to Davis’s profile and the attacks on him continue. It amazes me he apologized and the whole thing was dropped yet some still want to keep on and on about it and continue the attacks. This poor kid has been through alot these past few days.

  6. Christopher said:

    and it seems this time davis said nothing and a few over zealous fans decided to start up again sadly.

  7. I know this is all old but what i have to say is he was a 9 yr old at the time sending that to and older person defending the show or not that was bullying on twitter he had no right to say those things, demi did the wrong thing by posting it on twitter yes but also it was her opponion but who needs to be addressed here his davis parents allowing their child to post those comments to and older person if that was my child 1 i would have raised them better 2 and raised them to redpect their olders people i say stop bullying the kid as hes only a child but address the issuse to his parents and he needs to apologize for the comments and state that he should have said it in a better manner

  8. Katniss Everdeen said:

    I myself do not like the show, But seriously bullying a nine year old-kid- and Demi both attacking eachother, Sickos, I mean yeah I may be too old for it and Disney and may find the jokes not funny anymore, But it may be alright for the little kids, and bashing on little kids? Wrong… Just wrong…. It’s kind of like how people bash on Glee for being Gay… I mean its wrong, I mean the cast even got beat up, and lord have mercy on the 9 year old… Make sure he doesn’t end up like the cast of Glee, It’s like how I myself was Bullied I myself on both sides, it may not be right for making jokes on disorders and stuff but it is wrong to bully people for it… I exactly know how they’re feeling, So… Stop… Please… Just… Stop, Or i’ll shoot my bow & arrow at you bulliers like I did at the capitol!!!!! Are you… coming to the tree where we met up at midnight on the hanging tree, wear a necklace of rope side my side with me, where I told you to run so we both be free… Sings silently and the mockingjay’s all fall silent… 🙂

Leave a comment